2021 was a knock-out year for book reading!  To me, this was direct proof that my brain is fully back and functional after a serious tooth infection that started in 2018 (finally had surgery in 2019) – it was difficult to follow a mystery so I didn’t read much.

My reading goal for 2021 was 70 books.

Goodreads says I read 150 for the Reading Challenge, but you’ll see below when I exported my list it ends up being 180 books read.  I guess I’ll go with 180 (and here I thought 150 was a huge amount!) because I don’t understand the discrepancy since both lists are within Goodreads (still highly recommend tracking and rating books there!).

 

2021 Reading List

 

Title Author My Rating Pages Date Read
Sleeping Dogs Lie (The Tales of Dan Coast) Rodney Riesel 5 164 1/1/2021
Ocean Floors From the Tales of Dan Coast (Dan Coast, #2) Rodney Riesel 5 1/3/2021
Ship of Fools: From the Tales of Dan Coast Rodney Riesel 5 206 1/5/2021
Coasts of Christmas Past: From the Tales of Dan Coast (From the Tales of Dan Coast – No. 3) Rodney Riesel 5 205 1/5/2021
Double Trouble (From the Tales of Dan Coast Book 5) Rodney Riesel 5 199 1/7/2021
Most Likely to Die (From the Tales of Dan Coast Book 6) Rodney Riesel 5 212 1/9/2021
Tahoe Ice Grave (An Owen McKenna Mystery Thriller) Todd Borg 4 288 1/13/2021
Deadly Moves (From the Tales of Dan Coast Book 7) Rodney Riesel 5 205 1/13/2021
The Third Fan (Reed Ferguson Mystery #9) Renee Pawlish 4 196 1/14/2021
The Badass Body Diet: The Breakthrough Diet and Workout for a Tight Booty, Sexy Abs, and Lean Legs Christmas Abbott 4 352 1/15/2021
On the Wagon (From the Tales of Dan Coast Book 8) Rodney Riesel 5 235 1/15/2021
Flee (Codename: Chandler #1) J.A. Konrath 4 255 1/16/2021
No Enemies Here (From the Tales of Dan Coast Book 9) Rodney Riesel 5 204 1/18/2021
Neighborhood Watch (From the Tales of Dan Coast Book 10) Rodney Riesel 5 210 1/20/2021
Another Mother (From the Tales of Dan Coast Book 11) Rodney Riesel 5 220 1/22/2021
Corner Office (From the Tales of Dan Coast Book 12) Rodney Riesel 5 248 1/23/2021
Greenlights Matthew McConaughey 4 308 1/24/2021
My Crafty Biz: A Step-by-Step Guide to Building a Successful Arts and Crafts Business Tricia Ulberg 5 71 1/24/2021
What He Doesn’t Know (From the Tales of Dan Coast Book 13) Rodney Riesel 5 1/25/2021
Shoulda Seen it Comin’ (From the Tales of Dan Coast Book 14) Rodney Riesel 5 1/28/2021
As Seen on TV (The Jensen Beach Mysteries Book 1) Rodney Riesel 4 194 1/29/2021
North Murder Beach: A Jake Stellar Novel Rodney Riesel 4 166 1/31/2021
TV or Not TV (Jensen Beach Mysteries Book 2) Rodney Riesel 4 1/31/2021
When Death Returns (A Jake Stellar Series Book 3) Rodney Riesel 5 135 2/1/2021
Beach Shoot: Jake Stellar (A Jake Stellar Series Book 2) Rodney Riesel 5 146 2/1/2021
Dead in the Water (Jake Stellar #5) Rodney Riesel 5 222 2/2/2021
The Obedience of Fools (A Jake Stellar Series Book 4) Rodney Riesel 4 165 2/2/2021
Five Ways to Create Content for Kindle D’vorah Lansky 4 2/2/2021
The Joy of Genius Gay Hendricks 4 115 2/2/2021
Never Strikes Twice (Sunrise City Book 3) Rodney Riesel 4 151 2/3/2021
From Bad to Worse: Sunrise City 2 Rodney Riesel 4 125 2/3/2021
Sunrise City Rodney Riesel 4 192 2/3/2021
Dig Two Graves (Sunrise City Book 4) Rodney Riesel 5 173 2/4/2021
Maintenance Required (Fernandina Beach Mysteries Book 1) Rodney Riesel 4 155 2/5/2021
Scapegoats (Sunrise City Book 5) Rodney Riesel 4 2/5/2021
High Maintenance (Fernandina Beach Mysteries Book 2) Rodney Riesel 4 134 2/6/2021
Serial Maintenance (Fernandina Beach Mysteries Book 3) Rodney Riesel 4 234 2/7/2021
Look For Me (Detective D.D. Warren, #9) Lisa Gardner 4 392 2/17/2021
A Vision of Murder (Psychic Eye Mystery, #3) Victoria Laurie 3 296 2/18/2021
Snapped (Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller, #1) C.M. Sutter 3 290 2/18/2021
Sniper’s Nest (Detective Jesse McCord #1) C.M. Sutter 3 208 2/20/2021
What I Know for Sure Oprah Winfrey 5 228 2/22/2021
Retribution (Psychic Detective Kate Pierce Crime Thriller #1) C.M. Sutter 3 216 2/22/2021
The Perfect Wife (Jessie Hunt #1) Blake Pierce 4 199 2/23/2021
Family Maintenance (Fernandina Beach Mysteries Book 4) Rodney Riesel 4 2/26/2021
The Man in Room Number Four (The Dunquin Cove Story Book 1) Rodney Riesel 4 180 2/26/2021
A Plunder by Pilgrims (Garrison Gage, #0.5) Jack Nolte 4 71 2/28/2021
Guns Will Keep Us Together (Bombay Assassins, #2) Leslie Langtry 5 318 3/2/2021
Conjunctio: The Soul’s Journey…and lessons learned along the way Jean Adrienne 5 3/2/2021
The Coincidence Makers Yoav Blum 4 291 3/4/2021
Almost Gone (The Au Pair #1) Blake Pierce 3 282 3/5/2021
Next Door (Chloe Fine #1) Blake Pierce 4 194 3/5/2021
Once Gone (Riley Paige #1) Blake Pierce 4 204 3/8/2021
Leap of Perception: New Attention Skills for the Intuition Age Penney Peirce 4 224 3/9/2021
The Perfect Block (Jessie Hunt #2) Blake Pierce 4 215 3/10/2021
Deal Breaker (Myron Bolitar, #1) Harlan Coben 4 339 3/10/2021
The Girl Before J.P. Delaney 3 341 3/13/2021
Sometimes I Lie Alice Feeney 4 387 3/17/2021
Killing Moon (Moon #1) Rebecca York 5 352 3/21/2021
Nonviolent Communication: A Language of Life Marshall B. Rosenberg 5 220 3/22/2021
Suspicion Joseph Finder 3 390 3/23/2021
If Trees Could Talk: Life Lessons from the Wisdom of the Woods Holly Worton 5 326 3/26/2021
Southern Exposure (A Jake Stellar Series Book 7) Rodney Riesel 5 3/31/2021
Excited About Nothing (A Jake Stellar Series Book 6) Rodney Riesel 5 133 3/31/2021
A Desperate Place for Dying (Garrison Gage, #2) Jack Nolte 4 263 4/2/2021
Lucky Break (Lucky John Adventures #1) Mark Stone 4 211 4/4/2021
The Perfect House (Jessie Hunt #3) Blake Pierce 4 231 4/7/2021
The Perfect Smile (Jessie Hunt #4) Blake Pierce 3 204 4/9/2021
Stand by Your Hitman (Bombay Assassins, #3) Leslie Langtry 5 273 4/9/2021
Local Hero (The Dunquin Cove Story Book 3) Rodney Riesel 3 118 4/9/2021
Return to Dunquin Cove (The Dunquin Cove Story Book 2) Rodney Riesel 4 209 4/9/2021
Adrenal Fatigue Diet & Action Plan: A 5-Week Meal Plan and 50+ Recipes to Fight Fatigue Jennifer Maeng 4 4/16/2021
Lucky Draw (Lucky John Adventures #2) Mark Stone 3 179 4/16/2021
Adrenal Fatigue: Adrenal Fatigue Smashed! Jason van den Berg 3 32 4/21/2021
Adrenal Fatigue : Understanding the Symptoms of Adrenal Fatigue Dr.Eric Berg DC 4 84 4/21/2021
Tahoe Silence Todd Borg 4 352 4/21/2021
Death on Shorewatch Bay (Lifeguards of Shorewatch Bay Book 1) Mark Stone 3 4/22/2021
The Everything Guide to Adrenal Fatigue Maggie Luther 5 306 4/22/2021
Saints and Sinners (Jessie St. James #1) Mark Stone 3 174 4/24/2021
The Girl in the Motel (Joe Court, #1) Chris Culver 4 404 4/25/2021
I Am Magic: How To Create Your Best Life (I Am, #1) Maria Robins 5 63 4/26/2021
Adrenal Insufficiency 101: A Patient’s Guide to Managing Adrenal Insufficiency Winslow E. Dixon 4 4/26/2021
Fatigue: A step-by-step Guide on how to overcome Chronic Fatigue and Adrenal Fatigue in 30 Days Sabrina Wondraczek 4 74 4/26/2021
The Missing Sapphire of Zangrabar (Patricia Fisher Mysteries #1) Steve Higgs 3 170 4/27/2021
Deadly Connections (Detective Sarah Spillman, #1) Renee Pawlish 3 312 4/29/2021
Lying Next to Me Gregg Olsen 5 391 4/30/2021
Every Breath She Takes Norah Wilson 4 312 5/3/2021
The Abbey (Detective Ash Rashid #1) Chris Culver 4 401 5/7/2021
Say You’re Sorry (Morgan Dane, #1) Melinda Leigh 4 337 5/12/2021
My Sister’s Grave (Tracy Crosswhite, #1) Robert Dugoni 4 412 5/14/2021
Drunk on a Plane (The Misadventures of a Drunk in Paradise #1) Zane Mitchell 4 350 5/19/2021
Linn Random’s Guide to Reincarnation Journey of the Soul Linn Random 5/21/2021
Beyond Words (The Hutton Family, #1) Abby Brooks 5 338 5/22/2021
No Limit (Nadia Wolf #1) Nicolette Pierce 5 271 5/24/2021
Mango Bob (Mango Bob, #1) Bill  Myers 4 233 5/29/2021
His & Hers Alice Feeney 5 304 6/9/2021
White Rose of Avalon: An Arthurian Romance Kelley Heckart 4 191 6/11/2021
Face of Death (Zoe Prime #1) Stella Gold 3 226 6/16/2021
Trouble in a Tight Dress (Six Points Security, #1) Lori Sjoberg 4 6/19/2021
The Last Thing He Told Me Laura Dave 5 320 6/22/2021
Killer Insight (Psychic Eye Mystery, #4) Victoria Laurie 5 308 6/24/2021
The Body: A Guide for Occupants Bill Bryson 5 450 6/28/2021
You Are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life Jen Sincero 4 256 6/28/2021
I Shot You Babe (Bombay Assassins, #4) Leslie Langtry 4 291 6/29/2021
Believe Me Tony Strong 5 400 6/30/2021
The Perfect Stranger Megan Miranda 5 353 6/30/2021
Forever Entangled (Forever Bluegrass, #1) Kathleen Brooks 4 275 7/3/2021
The Siren (The Soul Summoner, #2) Elicia Hyder 5 312 7/9/2021
ThetaHealing® Seven Planes of Existence Vianna Stibal 4 272 7/16/2021
Cold Comfort (Bridgette Cash Mystery Thriller Book 1) Trevor Douglas 3 431 7/16/2021
The Outsider (Detective Ash Rashid #2) Chris Culver 4 384 7/18/2021
Hold On! – Season 1 (Hold On! #1) Peter  Darley 4 346 7/24/2021
Leveraging the Universe: 7 Steps to Engaging Life’s Magic (Abridged) Mike Dooley 5 224 7/25/2021
A Trace of Death (Keri Locke #1) Blake Pierce 4 216 7/27/2021
The Perfect Lie (Jessie Hunt #5) Blake Pierce 4 193 8/4/2021
A Trace of Murder (Keri Locke #2) Blake Pierce 4 190 8/8/2021
A Trace of Vice (Keri Locke #3) Blake Pierce 5 220 8/11/2021
The Perfect Look (Jessie Hunt #6) Blake Pierce 5 198 8/13/2021
The Perfect Affair (Jessie Hunt #7) Blake Pierce 4 207 8/24/2021
A Trace of Crime (Keri Locke #4) Blake Pierce 3 219 8/26/2021
F**k It Therapy: The Profane Way to Profound Happiness John C. Parkin 3 360 8/29/2021
A Trace of Hope (Keri Locke #5) Blake Pierce 4 240 8/29/2021
Waiting (The Making of Riley Paige #2) Blake Pierce 3 281 9/1/2021
Crime Seen (Psychic Eye Mystery, #5) Victoria Laurie 5 304 9/5/2021
Cause to Kill (Avery Black #1) Blake Pierce 4 192 9/10/2021
The Perfect Alibi (Jessie Hunt, #8) Blake Pierce 4 223 9/15/2021
Girl, Alone (Ella Dark FBI Suspense Thriller #1) Blake Pierce 4 225 9/19/2021
The Widower’s Wife Cate Holahan 4 304 9/20/2021
Cause to Fear (Avery Black #4) Blake Pierce 4 250 9/28/2021
The Fixer Joseph Finder 3 384 10/2/2021
Luring (The Making of Riley Paige #3) Blake Pierce 4 10/4/2021
The Black Book (Black Book #1) James Patterson 5 418 10/7/2021
Close Your Eyes (Kendra Michaels, #1) Iris Johansen 4 353 10/10/2021
The Little Book of Hygge: Danish Secrets to Happy Living Meik Wiking 4 233 10/12/2021
Girl, Taken (Ella Dark FBI Suspense Thriller #2) Blake Pierce 3 218 10/12/2021
The Perfect Disguise (Jessie Hunt, #10) Blake Pierce 3 230 10/16/2021
Talk to Yourself Like a Buddhist: Five Mindful Practices to Silence Negative Self-Talk Cynthia Kane 3 178 10/17/2021
My Own Mr. Darcy Karey White 4 289 10/18/2021
The Sentinel (Jack Reacher, #25) Lee Child 4 368 10/21/2021
Paradise by the Rifle Sights (Greatest Hits, #5) Leslie Langtry 5 112 10/22/2021
Happiness Recipe: Activities Over 21 Days to Transform Yourself Dorian Grisham 3 29 10/24/2021
Bite Size Happiness: Volume 1 Jarls Forsman 4 227 10/24/2021
How to Live a Good Life Jonathan Fields 4 256 10/24/2021
Conscious Uncoupling: 5 Steps to Living Happily Even After Katherine Woodward Thomas 4 322 10/26/2021
Wired In (Paradise Crime, #1) Toby Neal 4 282 10/26/2021
Rules Of Prey (Lucas Davenport, #1) John Sandford 4 351 10/30/2021
Call After Midnight (MIRA) Tess Gerritsen 4 256 10/31/2021
Merit Badge Murder (Merry Wrath Mysteries, #1) Leslie Langtry 5 188 11/4/2021
The Tao of Stress: How to Calm, Balance, and Simplify Your Life Robert G. Santee 4 176 11/5/2021
Stress-Proof: The Scientific Solution to Protect Your Brain and Body–And Be More Resilient Every Day Mithu Storoni 4 288 11/6/2021
The Inner Bonding Workbook: Six Steps to Healing Yourself and Connecting with Your Divine Guidance Margaret Paul 4 216 11/7/2021
Mint Cookie Murder (Merry Wrath Mysteries, #2) Leslie Langtry 5 183 11/12/2021
The Last Flight Julie   Clark 5 320 11/13/2021
The Secrets We Left Behind Susan Elliot Wright 3 385 11/16/2021
It’s Called a Breakup Because It’s Broken: The Smart Girl’s Break-Up Buddy Greg Behrendt 5 276 11/20/2021
The Perfect Secret (Jessie Hunt, #11) Blake Pierce 4 204 11/23/2021
Saving Shadows (Shadows Landing #1) Kathleen Brooks 5 272 11/25/2021
The Perfect Facade (Jessie Hunt, #12) Blake Pierce 4 199 11/26/2021
The Perfect Impression (Jessie Hunt, #13) Blake Pierce 3 220 11/27/2021
Death Perception (Psychic Eye Mystery, #6) Victoria Laurie 4 336 11/30/2021
Sunken Shadows (Shadows Landing #2) Kathleen Brooks 5 302 12/3/2021
Power Sleep: The Revolutionary Program That Prepares Your Mind for Peak Performance James B. Maas 5 248 12/5/2021
Mirror Work: 21 Days to Heal Your Life Louise L. Hay 5 203 12/5/2021
The Terminal List (Terminal List, #1) Jack Carr 5 417 12/5/2021
Marshmallow S’More Murder (Merry Wrath Mysteries, #3) Leslie Langtry 4 206 12/8/2021
One Little Secret Cate Holahan 3 320 12/9/2021
Sex, Lies, & Family Vacations Leslie Langtry 4 12/10/2021
The House Next Door James Patterson 4 449 12/12/2021
A Stranger in the House Shari Lapena 4 314 12/12/2021
Just One Thing: Developing a Buddha Brain One Simple Practice at a Time Rick Hanson 5 232 12/14/2021
The Loneliest Girl in the Universe Lauren   James 4 315 12/15/2021
The Guilt Trip Sandie Jones 5 320 12/18/2021
All the Missing Girls Megan Miranda 5 385 12/19/2021
The Perfect Deceit (Jessie Hunt #14) Blake Pierce 4 214 12/26/2021
The House Next Door James Patterson 4 448 12/26/2021
The Perfect Mistress (Jessie Hunt, #15) Blake Pierce 4 12/28/2021
Highly Intuitive People: 7 Right-Brain Traits to Change the Lives of Intuitive-Sensitive People Heidi Sawyer 4 259 12/29/2021
The Switch Joseph Finder 4 384 12/29/2021
The Last Letter from Your Lover Jojo Moyes 4 421 12/30/2021
Doom with a View (Psychic Eye Mystery, #7) Victoria Laurie 4 329 12/31/2021

 

LOVING LIBBY

 

One of the reasons, besides feeling better, that my reading skyrocketed was due to using the LIBBY app.  I started last year and all I can say is move over free books on Kindle and hello popular books!

All you need is a library card (I was able to get one online).  Connect your card within the app and check out books, put them on hold, and add them to various lists/categories.  They also have audiobooks!

Another great thing about using Goodreads to track your reading and rate books is that you can receive a weekly email report of what your friends are reading.  If a book that my friend has read looks good, I’ll search for it on Libby and read it!

 

AUTHOR IN DA HOUSE!

 

Jyll Hoyrup's Rock Your IntuitionAnother noteworthy big-bit (as opposed to a tidbit!) is that I, myself, wrote and published a book in two months in 2021.  Writing a book is something I have wanted to do for about 30 years.  I didn’t end up writing about the original topic (being adopted and finding birth parents), however, I wrote about something that has become very dear to my heart and life over the last 18 years and that is………discovering, understanding, and using my Intuition!

I’ve been using my Intuition to navigate my life, mentoring others to do the same, and figured the best way to help people understand and use their Intuition was to teach them about it!

Rock Your Intuition is a practical guide to understanding and using your Intuition.  It takes you through the 5 main types of Intuition, teaches you how to notice your Intuition as you go through the day, how to practice, as well as how to track and measure.  Using Intuition has helped me understand situations, make congruent decisions, and trust myself and how I live my life.  It’s on Amazon as an eBook.  Audiobook and print are coming SOON!

Does it count if you read your own book?  *giggle*

 

GET SERIOUS WITH SERIES

 

Rodney Riesel

It was easy to start off the year reading Rodney Riesel.  His laugh-out-loud mysteries kept me going for a few months – until my Kindle Unlimited Trial expired (waaa).  I highly recommend his series.

This review was specifically for the Tales of Dan Coast #3.  To be honest, I loved them all and it felt repetitive writing the reviews, “Great characters, mystery, and humor!  I’ve been binging on this series. Loving the characters and humor. This needs to be a TV series!  We get a closer look into Dan in this book and were taken to a deep place emotionally of all but for a few moments. I’m more curious to see what the next installment brings in terms of his development.”

Victoria Laurie

Also from last year, I continue to read the Psychic Eye Mystery series by Victoria Laurie.  Of course, as a psychic myself, I get a kick out of these books for obvious reasons!

Leslie Langtry

Leslie Langtry is a favorite with the Greatest Hits and Bombay Assassins series.  A family of assassins?  Really?  It works!  The humor is right up my alley.

Blake Pierce

Blake Pierce is keeping me on my toes with the Jessie Hunt series.  I’ve tried a few other of Blake’s series and the jury is still out for me.

 

VERY IMPRESSED + BOOK REVIEWS

 

Matthew McConnaughy’s GREENLIGHTS was, “DEFINITELY worth the read. I don’t even know how to review it and do it justice. It’s an unraveling. It’s a weave of stories and lessons that even if you don’t relate to from your own experience, there is something in each of them for you. It’s relatable. It’s deep. I laughed, I rolled my eyes, I shook my head, I cringed, I teared up. I’m going to be thinking about how the book made me feel and what it brought forth in me for a while.”

 

 

Conjunctio: The Soul’s Journey…and lessons learned along the way by Jean Adrienne.  “WOW!!!  Highly Recommend!!!  The phrase popping in is: Reading Outside The Lines. This is an inspiring story. I got the Chills, and teared up, through the first half where Jean talks about her trip to Mexico and all those synchronicities. It reminded me of my own when using Intuition to move to Belize. The second half about finding her Beloved is a powerful statement to Divine Love, Connection, and Timing. This book made me think about my own story/Journey and how to create more connection with myself and others.”

 

 

While I’ve read a lot of NEW authors (to me) this year, none of them are really jumping out at me to give them the FAVORITE NEW AUTHOR OF THE YEAR award.  It could also be that I don’t remember every book I’ve read so I will do better this year in tracking that because I like to give them kudos!

 

READ AND ROAR!!!

 

%d bloggers like this:
Malcare WordPress Security