My Year in BooksI don’t have a good reason for not posting my 2022 Book Review and Reading List sooner so let’s forgo the excuses and get on with it!

In 2021, my reading goal was 70 and I read 150 (you can read the 2021 Book Review here).  I guess I attribute that to the pandemic. One of my favorite pastimes was cozying up by the fire and reading for hours.

The problem with over-achieving is the added pressure to, in this case, up my reading game.  Does this surpassed goal become my new norm?  How could it not, now that I knew it was possible?!!!

Feeling the pressure, I erred on the side of wimpiness and chose 150 as my 2022 Reading goal.  Well, that blew up in my face as I reached 179 books at the end of December.  I was all geared up to read a Blake Pierce mystery really fast, but I didn’t have it in me.  I was satisfied with 179.

I gave in this year and made my goal of 180 books.  I’m 60 away from it so we shall see if I can kick it into high gear these last two months of the year.  Without further ado, let’s get to the goods of 2022 (rhyme unintended but loving it!):

 

2022 BOOK REVIEWS AND READING LIST

 

Title Author My Rating Date Read
Intermittent Fasting for Women: The Easy Way to Burn Fat, Feel and Look Good, Slow Ageing and Increase Productivity while Enjoying the Lifestyle and the Foods You Love (Healthy Weight Loss) Nathalie Seaton 3 12/31/2022
The Big E – Everything is Energy: Unleashing the Power of Everyday Wisdom Dee Wallace 2 12/29/2022
The Girl He Pined (Paige King #1) Blake Pierce 3 12/28/2022
Line of Fire (Archer Tactical, #1) A.K. Evans 3 12/26/2022
What She Did (Charlotte Pierce #1) Kate Gable 3 12/24/2022
Rain in Dark Woods (Detective Pete Nazareth #11) R.H.  Johnson 3 12/18/2022
You Have 4 Minutes to Change Your Life Rebekah Borucki 0 12/15/2022
After I Do Taylor Jenkins Reid 4 12/15/2022
Verity Colleen Hoover 5 12/12/2022
Without Mercy (Dakota Steele #1) Ava Strong 4 12/11/2022
Relative Karma Martin Reaves 3 12/6/2022
The Art of Coming Home Craig Storti 5 12/5/2022
Deadly Pattern (Dana Mulder #1) N.  Gray 4 12/3/2022
Too Late (Morgan Stark #1) Rylie Dark 4 11/30/2022
Savannah Savior: A Meredeth Connelly Mind Hunt Thriller E.H. Vick 3 11/26/2022
Dead Simple (Roy Grace #1) Peter James 4 11/22/2022
Friends, Lovers, and the Big Terrible Thing Matthew   Perry 4 11/17/2022
Demons Are a Ghoul’s Best Friend (Ghost Hunter Mystery, #2) Victoria Laurie 3 11/15/2022
Fated for Felony (Psychic Eye Mystery #16) Victoria Laurie 4 11/11/2022
Someone We Know Shari Lapena 4 11/8/2022
The Midnight Line (Jack Reacher, #22) Lee Child 4 11/3/2022
What’s a Ghoul to Do? (Ghost Hunter Mystery, #1) Victoria Laurie 3 11/1/2022
Upgrade Blake Crouch 4 10/24/2022
Discover Your Menopause Type: The Exciting New Program That Identifies the 12 Unique Menopause Types & the Best Choices for You Joseph Collins 5 10/22/2022
A Panicked Premonition (Psychic Eye Mystery, #15) Victoria Laurie 4 10/18/2022
Menopause Confidential: A Doctor Reveals the Secrets to Thriving Through Midlife Tara Allmen 5 10/10/2022
Happy Hormones: The Natural Treatment Programs for Weight Loss, PMS, Menopause, Fatigue, Irritability, Osteoporosis, Stress, Anxiety, Thyroid Imbalances and More Kristy Vermeulen 4 10/6/2022
A Grave Prediction (A Psychic Eye Mystery, #14) Victoria Laurie 5 10/6/2022
Sense of Deception (Psychic Eye Mystery, #13) Victoria Laurie 5 10/4/2022
The Book of Afformations®: Discovering the Missing Piece to Abundant Health, Wealth, Love, and Happiness Noah St. John 5 10/1/2022
Mind to Matter: The Astonishing Science of How Your Brain Creates Material Reality Dawson Church 4 10/1/2022
Message in the Bones Dawn Merriman 5 9/30/2022
Introverts in Love: The Quiet Way to Happily Ever After Sophia Dembling 3 9/25/2022
Thank & Grow Rich: A 30-Day Experiment in Shameless Gratitude and Unabashed Joy Pam Grout 5 9/23/2022
The Secret Language of the Heart: How to Use Music, Sound, and Vibration as Tools for Healing and Personal Transformation Barry Goldstein 5 9/18/2022
They Called Me Brent Steve  Brewer 3 9/17/2022
Whatever Arises, Love That: A Love Revolution That Begins with You Matt Kahn 4 9/15/2022
Finding Peace of Mind (Tansy & Hank #1) Miranda Rose Barker 3 9/13/2022
Letters to a Starseed: Messages and Activations for Remembering Who You Are and Why You Came Here Rebecca   Campbell 4 9/11/2022
Fatal Fortune (A Psychic Eye Mystery, #12) Victoria Laurie 4 9/10/2022
Save Me (Katie Winter #1) Molly Black 3 9/8/2022
The Perfect Rumor (Jessie Hunt #19) Blake Pierce 3 9/5/2022
Micromessaging: Why Great Leadership Is Beyond Words Stephen     Young 5 8/31/2022
Millionaire AFFORMATIONS: The Magic Formula that Will Make You Rich (Millionaire AFFORMATIONS® Book 1) Noah St. John 5 8/31/2022
Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently John C. Maxwell 5 8/28/2022
Deadlock (Ryan Lock #2) Sean Black 4 8/28/2022
The Day I Shot Cupid: Hello, My Name Is Jennifer Love Hewitt and I’m a Love-aholic Jennifer Love Hewitt 4 8/27/2022
The Universe Always Has a Plan: The 10 Golden Rules of Letting Go Matt Kahn 4 8/27/2022
The Art of Gathering: How We Meet and Why It Matters Priya Parker 3 8/27/2022
An Unwanted Guest Shari Lapena 3 8/27/2022
Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World Bob Goff 3 8/25/2022
This Modern Love Will Darbyshire 3 8/21/2022
Deadly Forecast (Psychic Eye Mystery, #11) Victoria Laurie 4 8/21/2022
Along the Way: The Journey of a Father and Son Martin Sheen 5 8/20/2022
Buried Secrets (Nick Heller, #2) Joseph Finder 4 8/17/2022
If She Saw (Kate Wise, #2) Blake Pierce 3 8/15/2022
Lethal Outlook (Psychic Eye Mystery, #10) Victoria Laurie 3 8/11/2022
If She Knew (Kate Wise, #1) Blake Pierce 4 8/9/2022
Taking the Lead: Lessons from a Life in Motion Derek Hough 4 8/6/2022
Born Standing Up: A Comic’s Life Steve Martin 4 8/3/2022
Back to the Prairie: A Home Remade, A Life Rediscovered Melissa Gilbert 5 7/31/2022
Meet Me in Paris Juliette Sobanet 3 7/30/2022
How to be Your Own Genie: Manifesting the Magical Life You Were Born to Live Radleigh Valentine 5 7/28/2022
Such a Quiet Place Megan Miranda 5 7/27/2022
Judgment Joseph Finder 4 7/25/2022
Vision Impossible (Psychic Eye Mystery, #9) Victoria Laurie 3 7/23/2022
I’ve Learnt My Lesson: An Expat’s Reality Check of Living in UAE’s Moderate Muslim Society Maya Maquis 4 7/20/2022
Gut Health Transformation: Eliminate Diseases, Heal your Digestive & Live Healthy! (Gut Health Transformation The Probiotic affect, Gut Health Transformation Gut restoration) Bob Wayne 3 7/18/2022
Greek Mythology: Greek Gods, Goddesses, Heroes, Heroines, Monsters, And Classic Greek Myths Of All Time Lance Hightower 4 7/18/2022
What You See When You Can’t See: How Blindness Helped One Woman Discover the True Beauty of Life Zena Cooper 3 7/18/2022
Mythology: The Ancient Secrets of the Greeks, Egyptians, Vikings, and the Norse (Mythology, Gods, Myths, and Legends) Martin R. Phillips 4 7/18/2022
The Pocket Watch (The Pocket Watch Chronicles #1) Ceci Giltenan 5 7/18/2022
The Motivation Switch: 77 Ways to Get Motivated, Avoid Procrastination, and Achieve Success A.J. Winters 4 7/17/2022
Immovable Heart Unstoppable Mind: A Personal Guide To The 6 Essential Practices For Living A Healthy And Fulfilling Life David Zappasodi 3 7/17/2022
NOT A BOOK: Productivity: Stick It! 8 Powerful Ways to Make Habits Stick and Transform Your Life (productivity books, mini habits, the power of habit, the 7 habits … people, the power of habit, habit trigger) Amy Pendergrass 3 7/17/2022
You Are Enough: How To Elevate Your Thoughts, Align Your Energy & Get Out of the Comparison Trap Cassie Mendoza-Jones 3 7/17/2022
The Unlimited Self: Destroy Limiting Beliefs, Uncover Inner Greatness, and Live the Good Life Jonathan Heston 3 7/16/2022
The Anomaly Mind-Set: How I Transformed My Business and My Life by Standing Out Instead of Fitting In Sandi Krakowski 4 7/16/2022
Managing Expectations: A Memoir in Essays Minnie Driver 3 7/15/2022
Daily Disciplines: 90 DAYS OF PERSONAL GROWTH Skip Ross 4 7/14/2022
Relationship Agreements: A Simple and Effective Guide for Strengthening Communication, Reducing Conflict, and Increasing Intimacy to Design Your Ideal Relationship Eri Kardos 4 7/14/2022
Self-Love: The 21-Day Self-Love Challenge – Learn how to love yourself unconditionally, cultivate self-worth, self-compassion and self-confidence (self … happiness) (21-Day Challenges Book 6) 21 Day Challenges 3 7/14/2022
FLIP The Gratitude Switch: A Simple Formula To Change The Trajectory Of Your Life Kevin Clayson 4 7/14/2022
I Heart Me: The Science of Self-Love David R. Hamilton 3 7/13/2022
Out of the Corner Jennifer  Grey 4 7/13/2022
Become a Medical Intuitive: The Complete Developmental Course Tina M. Zion 4 7/7/2022
The Universe Always Delivers Twice Manifesting with Energy and the Law of Attraction: A Guide for Magic and Miracle Making Sarah Hertz 4 7/7/2022
Fool For A Client (Mackenzie August Mystery #10) Alan     Lee 4 7/5/2022
Dead Stop (Mackenzie August Mysteries #9) Alan     Lee 3 7/5/2022
Bad Aim (Mackenzie August, #8) Alan     Lee 4 7/3/2022
These Mortals (Mackenzie August, #7) Alan     Lee 5 7/1/2022
Good Girl (Mackenzie August #6) Alan     Lee 5 6/29/2022
Only the Details (Mackenzie August #5) Alan     Lee 5 6/27/2022
Aces Full (Mackenzie August #4) Alan     Lee 5 6/26/2022
Email Marketing Optimization: Send, Track and Improve Your Email Marketing Campaigns and Sales Funnels Lanie Lamarre 5 6/23/2022
Flawed Players (Mackenzie August #3) Alan     Lee 5 6/22/2022
The Second Secret (Mackenzie August #2) Alan     Lee 5 6/21/2022
August Origins (Mackenzie August #1) Alan     Lee 5 6/19/2022
A Blast From the Past (Jensen Beach Mysteries Book 4) Rodney Riesel 4 6/17/2022
Finding Sommer Nicholas  Harvey 3 6/15/2022
Seashells, Spells & Caramels (Spells & Caramels, #1) Erin Johnson 4 6/10/2022
Prairie Tale: A Memoir Melissa Gilbert 5 6/7/2022
Love Life Rob Lowe 5 6/5/2022
Do You Remember Freida McFadden 5 6/2/2022
Another Man’s Treasure (Roy Ballard Mysteries Book 8) Ben Rehder 5 5/31/2022
Dark Web T.J. Brearton 5 5/26/2022
Snow Creek (Detective Megan Carpenter, #1) Gregg Olsen 4 5/22/2022
The Family Holiday Shalini Boland 3 5/20/2022
The Beginning After Kiersten Modglin 4 5/16/2022
Our Little Secret Kiersten Modglin 4 5/14/2022
The Dinner Guests Kiersten Modglin 3 5/12/2022
Stories I Only Tell My Friends Rob Lowe 5 5/11/2022
The Other Emily Dean Koontz 3 5/9/2022
Get Super Focused: 100+ Simple And Powerful Tips To Increase Your Concentration (Mental Development) Bogdan Ivanov 3 5/6/2022
Carolina Monster (Lowcountry Crimes Book 3) Mark Stone 4 5/6/2022
The Reunion Kiersten Modglin 3 5/2/2022
Brain Damage Freida McFadden 3 4/30/2022
The Housemaid (The Housemaid, #1) Freida McFadden 5 4/29/2022
Show Me (Thomas Prescott #4) Nick Pirog 4 4/28/2022
Tell Me the Truth Kiersten Modglin 5 4/28/2022
A Practical Guide to Creating Heaven on Earth: How Do I Get There From Here? Sheila Gallien 5 4/27/2022
Twin Flames: The Ultimate Guide to Attracting Your Twin Flame, Signs You Need to Know and the Different Stages, Includes a Comparison of Relationships … and Life Partners (Extrasensory Perception) Mari Silva 3 4/27/2022
Carolina Dreamer (Lowcountry Crimes Book 2) Mark Stone 5 4/27/2022
Summary of Joe Navarro’s Book: What Every Body Is Saying: An Ex-FBI Agent’s Guide to Speed-Reading People Good Summaries 5 4/26/2022
Cheat Sheet: Master Getting Things Done…In 2 Minutes – The Practical Summary of David Allen’s Best Selling Book 2 Minute Insight 5 4/26/2022
I Hear You: The Surprisingly Simple Skill Behind Extraordinary Relationships Michael S. Sorensen 5 4/26/2022
Carolina Reaper (Lowcountry Crimes Book 1) Mark Stone 5 4/25/2022
I Will Always Write Back: How One Letter Changed Two Lives Caitlin Alifirenka 5 4/25/2022
Do Not Disturb Freida McFadden 4 4/24/2022
The Husbands T.J. Brearton 3 4/24/2022
Wild Horses: Charlie Hewitt Rodney Riesel 4 4/20/2022
The Arrangement (The Arrangement, #1) Kiersten Modglin 3 4/18/2022
The Locked Door Freida McFadden 3 4/17/2022
From Stress to Stillness: Tools for Inner Peace Gina Lake 3 4/17/2022
The SNAFU Principle: Eliminate Misunderstanding, Resolve Conflict and Motivate Employees Ron Hurst 4 4/17/2022
Whoops! I Forgot to Achieve My Potential: Discover your Talents, Clarify your Vision, Find Happiness Maggie Huffman 3 4/17/2022
The Perfume Collector, The Ultimate Perfume Making Guide: Over 25 Homemade Perfume Recipes to Die for! Erma Bomberger 3 4/17/2022
Problem Child (Jane Doe, #2) Victoria Helen Stone 4 4/16/2022
Jane Doe (Jane Doe, #1) Victoria Helen Stone 5 4/15/2022
Bitten in the Midlife (Fanged After Forty #1) Lia Davis 4 4/14/2022
My Wife’s Secrets (My Husband’s Fiancee #2) Wendy Owens 3 4/8/2022
My Husband’s Fiancee (My Husband’s Fiancee #1) Wendy Owens 4 4/7/2022
My Husband’s Secret Kiersten Modglin 3 4/5/2022
The Medicine Bag: Shamanic Rituals & Ceremonies for Personal Transformation Jose Ruiz 3 4/4/2022
30 Days- Change your habits, Change your life: A couple of simple steps every day to create the life you want Marc Reklau 4 4/4/2022
Las Vegas Crime (Baxter and Holt, #3) Leslie Wolfe 4 4/3/2022
Casino Girl (Baxter and Holt, #2) Leslie Wolfe 4 4/3/2022
Las Vegas Girl (Baxter and Holt, #1) Leslie Wolfe 4 4/1/2022
Intuition (Intangible, #0.5) Jen  Meyers 4 3/28/2022
What About Now?: Reminders for Being in the Moment Gina Lake 3 3/27/2022
The Patient’s Secret Loreth Anne White 4 3/27/2022
The Perfect Indiscretion (Jessie Hunt #18) Blake Pierce 4 3/23/2022
Already Gone (Laura Frost FBI #1) Blake Pierce 3 3/20/2022
The 30-Minute Mediterranean Diet Cookbook: 101 Easy, Flavorful Recipes for Lifelong Health Deanna Segrave-Daly 4 3/19/2022
Now Is Your Chance: A 30-Day Guide to Living Your Happiest Life Using Positive Psychology Niyc Pidgeon 3 3/19/2022
Bloodshot (Cam Derringer #2) Mac Fortner 3 3/19/2022
Overwatch (Reed Montgomery #1) Logan Ryles 3 3/18/2022
Lasting Shadows (Shadows Landing, #3) Kathleen Brooks 4 3/16/2022
A Glimpse of Evil (Psychic Eye Mystery, #8) Victoria Laurie 4 3/14/2022
The Miracle Morning: The Not-So-Obvious Secret Guaranteed to Transform Your Life: Before 8AM Hal Elrod 4 2/27/2022
The Perfect Veil (Jessie Hunt #17) Blake Pierce 3 2/27/2022
Drunk Driving (The Misadventures of a Drunk in Paradise #3) Zane Mitchell 4 2/16/2022
The Import J.T. Baier 4 2/14/2022
Drunk on a Boat (The Misadventures of a Drunk in Paradise #2) Zane Mitchell 4 2/9/2022
Knee Deep: Florida Keys Crime Thriller Series (Cam Derringer Book 1) Mac Fortner 4 2/6/2022
Shoot the Breeze (Detective Kate Rosetti Mystery, #1) Gina LaManna 4 2/6/2022
The Speed of Souls: A Novel Nick Pirog 5 2/3/2022
Charlie Hewitt: Bro Code (From the Tales of Dan Coast) Rodney Riesel 4 1/24/2022
Rolling Thunder (Coastal Fury, #1) Matt Lincoln 4 1/23/2022
French Vanilla & Felonies (Cambria Clyne Mysteries #1) Erin Huss 4 1/19/2022
Dead Asleep (Jensen Beach Mysteries Book 3) Rodney Riesel 4 1/18/2022
The Maine Events (Allen Crane Book 1) Rodney Riesel 4 1/14/2022
Siesta Fiesta (From the Tales of Dan Coast Book 16) Rodney Riesel 5 1/12/2022
A Note From the Grave (From the Tales of Dan Coast #15) Rodney Riesel 5 1/10/2022
Hazardous Duty (Squeaky Clean Mysteries, #1) Christy Barritt 3 1/8/2022
The Perfect Image (Jessie Hunt #16) Blake Pierce 3 1/5/2022
Movie Night Murder (Merry Wrath Mysteries, #4) Leslie Langtry 4 1/4/2022

MEMOIRS

 

In past years I mentioned the plan/goal to up my reading of History.  Well, that never worked well for me – it is my least favorite subject and I find it so boring.

I noticed in 2021 (maybe earlier), I’ve been reading more Memoirs.  That’s like history, right?  I’m enjoying Memoirs quite a bit.  I’ve been pleasantly surprised by some of the Celebrity memoirs I’ve read.  I stopped following Celebrities 20+ years ago, but some still hold a special place in my heart because, well childhood/teen TV shows and movies, hello!

There’s something about seeing (reading) a Celeb as a “real person” that did it for me, and that’s what these Memoirs gave me.  I’m impressed with a lot of their character, the way they navigate the spotlight, and the way they navigate life (and take the high road — is there one in Hollywood!?).  I’ll continue reading them for sure.

 

FAVORITE NEW AUTHOR

 

ALAN LEE – the Mackenzie August Series

Hands down my Favorite new author (to me) and new series of 2022! Mackenzie is likable, intelligent, witty, learns lessons, is introspective, and is NOT to be reckoned with!!! I enjoy the characters’ cohesiveness and energy and flow to each mystery. This needs to be a TV series (starring Manny Montana as Manny!).

 

MOST PROFOUND AND IMPACTFUL

 

MICROMESSAGING by Stephen Young

EVERYONE needs to read this book. It will help navigate life in a different, more useful way. Micromessages are those tiny, unspoken ways of communicating, like body language and how you may treat two people very differently.  While this book focuses on Micromessages using a work environment, it can be applied to all interactions with anyone, anywhere. I learned a lot and was able to see a LOT of Microinequities in my interactions with others. I also noticed where others might be experiencing Microinequities from me. While reading, I made many connections with Micromessaging and Intuition and how powerful the two work together.

 

AFFORMATIONS by Noah St JohnAfformations by Noah St John

I’ve always been into self-reflection, changing things I don’t like about myself or things that don’t work, and bettering myself (progressing and building character).  Being able to banish my spiral thinking (recovering deep thinker and analyzer here!) and learning to harness my thoughts were directly achieved by reading a little book called The Power of Positive Thinking by Norman Vincent Peale in 1994.  And later, in 1999, reading and implementing the concepts in What You Say When You Talk to Yourself by Shad Helmstetter (not to mention countless other Postive Mental Attitude books I read in the 1990’s).

Afformations is right up there with the best of the best.  I’ve always loved Affirmations, however, this book blows them out of the water. Noah nailed it — what has been missing from typical “I AM” affirmations (you ask “WHY” instead). I really resonated with turning your typical affirmation into a WHY question – my analytical, problem-solving brain LOVES the why questions!  I’ve noticed a difference in how I feel when I use Afformations and it’s exciting (I make it a game) to turn my self-talk into WHY questions. I’ve created things just to see if I could (and I did!) using Afformations.  I highly recommend this book!  I’m teaching it to clients, friends – anyone who will listen.  Why am I able to reach my reading goal this year?  (See?)

 

Stories I Only Tell My Friends By Rob LoweSTORIES I ONLY TELL MY FRIENDS by Rob Lowe

I was really affected by this book – and highly recommend it. I’m a 70’s baby and grew up playing kick-the-can with the neighborhood clan (there go the unplanned rhymes again – must be a message to publish my poetry already!) and watching Rob Lowe and the Brat Pack. What I thought would be a light, interesting story about acting and Hollywood (and it is, tastefully done) was quickly so much more. Rob’s depth, self-awareness (even at a young age when he didn’t know how to navigate it), and ability/decision to stay true to himself are the foundations of his story.

My Clairempathy (Clear Sensing Energy) was on high alert while reading this – I could sense the truth and depth of everything Rob shared. I experienced moments of heartbreak, sadness, joy, humor, and tenderness. This book will change you. It will create moments of awareness in your own life that help you reach a deeper understanding of yourself (at least it did for me!). The anecdotes and stories will build your character by proxy. Just read it then you’ll understand what I mean.

 

HONORABLE MENTIONS

 

THE ART OF COMING HOME by Craig Storti

This book nailed how I felt as a teenager returning to the USA from Egypt after living there for 3 years in the 80’s. The validation was nice, even after all these years!

 

JANE DOE by Victoria Helen Stone

I couldn’t put this book down! Jane was fascinating, to say the least, interesting, and purely diabolical. Jane was likable (to me) and insightful to herself and her shortcomings (rarely do we see that in protagonists). Reading about a sociopath from the first-person point of view was nothing short of brilliant. I’d definitely read more in the series though Problem Child (Jane Doe #2) was very tame in comparison to this one, it almost didn’t feel like the same character.

 

THE SPEED OF SOULS by Nick Pirog

Nick’s been a favorite author of mine since 2015 when I read his 3 AM series.  I loved everything about the Speed of Souls – the characters, the story, the subject, all the connecting pieces, and how it all flowed. Nick doesn’t disappoint. And I’d like to thank Susan too (read past the author notes and you’ll be thanking her as well!).

 

Well, that was a fun revisit and wrap of my 2022 reading.  I’ve got to get going — I’m off to READ AND ROAR!!!!

Malcare WordPress Security