The 2017 Reading Frenzy ended at 79 books.  The last few months of the year I was scrambling to read more as my goal was 90.  Oh well!  79 is not too shabby!  I don’t know if I will ever beat my 121 read in 2016 but will strain my eyes trying!!!

UPDATES and TIDBITS

I’m still using Goodreads and love it!  I failed to use my “Stopped Reading” list though there were many that would be on it!  I find that if I am not sucked into the story by the first page or two – or even the writing, the flow, the words – then I don’t want to read it.  Is that picky of me?  Well, it’s reality!  Roar!

I’m finding less interest in reading violent or gruesome mysteries.  I’ve had Adrian Hell #3 (James P Sumner) going since summer 2017 that I cannot seem to pick up again.  I really liked that series too!  I’m at 50% so stay tuned if it is on this years list!

I’m also turned off by excessive swearing and typically put those books down (figuratively speaking – still enjoying my Kindle!) as well.

Alright!  I will no longer be declaring that I’m going to read more History, Spiritual, Metaphysical or Informational books.  Why?  Because I’m not being accountable to it.  Reading is my escape.  I read where the mood or interest takes me.  No shoulds.  No expectations.  Just READ!!!

I’m working on reading faster this year – nothing too crazy just practicing.

I removed myself from my “free books” mailing lists (I was on bookbubs and fb.me or something like that).  I decided to stop adding new books and read the ones I have (over 900??).  Plus, decluttering the junk emails feels good!

I’m discovering that I’m not resonating or liking some of the authors I have liked for awhile….what is that about?!!?

FAVORITE NEW AUTHOR

I was just reviewing my list trying to figure out who this was (been a loooooong time since I’ve read those books – what the heck are they about?  Good thing I rated them!  OH YEAH, I REMEMBER!!!!!) and want to say a little something about what I look for in a book.

I previously mentioned that the writing and story have to jump off the page and grab my attention and interest.

I rate a book a 5 if I would read it again (and I’m not a big re-reader, especially if a mystery – what’s the point?).  A 4 is really enjoyable – great story, great read, great writing, great feelings reading it.  A 3 is alright but nothing to shout about.

Favorite New Author read in 2017 goes to………………………………..drum roll………………………………………NICK WARREN!

Warren’s book, Execution is Everything, had me from the first page, offered a unique and intriguing storyline, not to mention was a page-swiping psychological thriller mystery!  It’s about a business psychologist, Jon Kaine, who travels to New York for a job, meets a beautiful woman in a bar and gets caught up “saving” her from bad guys.  I was drawn to the psychological aspects and how he used his skills to navigate the situations he found himself in.  I couldn’t read it fast enough and was left wanting more.

I’ve never done this before but I’m going to link you to it right now – it’s free – go get it and try it!  Oops, that is the Novella link – short and sweet and free but totally leaves you hanging.  Here is the full story for $4.99 or Free on Kindle Unlimited.

I’m happy dancing right now because I see the next books in the series are available (how did I miss that?  I’m on his mailing list!)….and you know I don’t pay for books very often!!

READ AND ROAR!!!

READING GOALS FOR 2018

The reading goal for 2018 is 100 books.  So far I’ve read 6.  I better get cracking!!!  I’ve been buying (!! I know!  I have been known to purchase if it costs $2.99 or under.  When Hay House has their $.99 sale I do look…) Spiritual books lately and of course, have a ton already so I’m hoping I actually get my focus though I’m not going to commit – just letting you know!!

THE 2017 READING LIST

Total pages read 18, 383!  In case you actually count them you’ll notice there are only 77 books listed, not 79.  I must have deleted a few on accident when editing the spreadsheet:

Title Author Rating Pages Date Read
Dire (David Wolf #8) Jeff Carson 4 348 12/31/2017
The Dead Man (Jack Davis Mystery, #2) Joel Goldman 4 417 12/21/2017
Perplexity (The Pepperman Mystery Series Book 1) Bill Briscoe 3 230 12/14/2017
The Innocent (Ryan Lock #5) Sean Black 3 305 12/10/2017
Sex, Snow & Mistletoe (A Short Story) Laura Barnard 3 34 12/3/2017
Flash Tim Tigner 4 330 12/3/2017
Attract Money Now Joe Vitale 4 160 11/26/2017
Soul Shifts: Transformative Wisdom for Creating a Life of Authentic Awakening, Emotional Freedom & Practical Spirituality Barbara De Angelis 3 341 11/23/2017
Beatless Amber L. Johnson 4 213 11/21/2017
Puddle Jumping (Puddle Jumping, #1) Amber L. Johnson 4 127 11/19/2017
Chicago Blue (Red Riley #1) Stephanie Andrews 3 153 11/18/2017
Three Seconds To Rush (Piper Anderson Legacy Mystery Book 1) Danielle Stewart 3 251 11/13/2017
Water Under the Bridge (The Water Trilogy #1) Britney King 4 282 11/6/2017
The Universe Has Your Back: Transform Fear to Faith Gabrielle Bernstein 3 205 11/4/2017
False Identity Jennifer Youngblood 3 242 11/2/2017
Snatched Pamela Burford 5 306 10/26/2017
Death Turns a Trick (Rebecca Schwartz, #1) Julie Smith 2 176 10/21/2017
The Blow-In (The Tipperary Series, #1) Susanne O’Leary 3 242 10/21/2017
No Kiss Goodbye Janelle Harris 4 362 10/9/2017
A Recipe for Disaster (Sarah Woods Mystery #16) Jennifer L. Jennings 3 106 10/5/2017
Infinite Sacrifice (Infinite Series, #1) L.E. Waters 4 240 10/3/2017
The Choose Yourself Guide To Wealth James Altucher 4 279 9/20/2017
Exposed (Codename: Chandler, #0.2) J.A. Konrath 4 119 9/11/2017
Silver Bullet (Preternatural Affairs, #2) S.M. Reine 3 243 9/6/2017
Witch Hunt (Preternatural Affairs, #1) S.M. Reine 4 234 9/2/2017
Case of the One-Eyed Tiger J.M. Poole 3 260 8/29/2017
Heaven to Betsy (What Doesn’t Kill You #5) Pamela Fagan Hutchins 3 311 8/21/2017
Ghost Of A Girl Theo Cage 4 359 8/19/2017
Night of the Hunted (Reed Ferguson #11) Renee Pawlish 3 232 8/6/2017
Kill Switch Gordon Bonnet 4 270 7/21/2017
Reel Estate Rip-Off (Reed Ferguson Mystery #2) Renee Pawlish 3 244 7/23/2017
Animal Lessons: Discovering Your Spiritual Connection with Animals Danielle MacKinnon 4 242 7/30/2017
Solomon & Lord: Sink or Swim Paul Levine 2 133 7/1/2017
Murder Uncorked (A Wine Lover’s Mystery #1) Michele Scott 4 203 7/7/2017
Hollywood Killer (Hollywood Alphabet, #11) M.Z. Kelly 3 290 7/13/2017
Life on Earth: Understanding Who We Are, How We Got Here, and What May Lie Ahead Mike Dooley 4 229 7/11/2017
Playing With Poison (Cue Ball Mysteries, #1) Cindy Blackburn 4 251 7/10/2017
The Art Of Letting Go Thought Catalog 2 94 7/1/2017
Unbreakable Bond (Jamie Bond, #1) Gemma Halliday 4 184 7/2/2017
Execution Is Everything (Jon Kaine #1) Nick Warren 5 120 6/5/2017
An Island of Illusions (A Sarah Woods Mystery #3) Jennifer L. Jennings 3 225 4/5/2017
On Assignment (Queenie Baby, #1) Christina A. Burke 4 220 4/7/2017
Her Imaginary Husband Lia London 3 191 4/19/2017
The Housewife Assassin’s Guide to Gracious Killing (Housewife Assassin #2) Josie Brown 3 278 5/10/2017
101 Facts… Ancient China (101 History Facts for Kids) IP Factly 3 57 5/10/2017
Fifth Rule of Ten (Tenzing Norbu Mystery) Gay Hendricks 3 384 6/4/2017
Molly Miranda: Thief for Hire Jillianne Hamilton 3 229 5/22/2017
The Housewife Assassin’s Guide to Gracious Killing (Housewife Assassin, #2) Josie Brown 3 240 5/1/2017
Serenity (Shelby Alexander, #1) Craig A. Hart 3 221 4/23/2017
Taking Flight Adrian R. Magnuson 4 287 4/22/2017
GOLDEN ECLIPSE: HEART DOG — A True Story Howard Schultheis 4 200 4/19/2017
Flash Crash (Jake Rivett #1) Denison Hatch 4 300 4/18/2017
Batter Up (Bachelors of Buttermilk Falls, #1) Robyn Neeley 4 172 4/16/2017
Fashion, Lies, and Murder (Amber Fox, #1) Sibel Hodge 4 254 4/11/2017
Messages From Shakti Zinna Gupte 3 61 3/29/2017
Psychic Development: Develop Psychic Abilities, Auras, Third Eye, Empath +1 BONUS BOOK (psychic development for beginners, psychic medium development, mediumship 4) Valerie W. Holt 4 221 3/26/2017
Turmeric: Learn the Health Benefits, Uses, Origins, and Recipes of Turmeric and Turmeric Essential Oil! (The Natural Health Benefits Series Book 7) Miles Reise 4 21 3/23/2017
Get Busy Dying (Roy Ballard Mysteries, #2) Ben Rehder 3 285 3/23/2017
If I Had A Nickel (Roy Ballard Mysteries Book 3) Ben Rehder 4 264 3/23/2017
Now You See Him (Roy Ballard Book 4) Ben Rehder 4 272 3/26/2017
Ting-A-Ling (Dev Haskell Mystery, #7) Mike Faricy 3 186 3/18/2017
Tutti Frutti (Dev Haskell – Private Investigator, Book 5) Mike Faricy 4 329 3/12/2017
Last Shot (Dev Haskell Mystery, #6) Mike Faricy 4 307 3/14/2017
Bombshell (Dev Haskell – Private Investigator, Book 4) Mike Faricy 4 258 3/9/2017
Bite Me (Devlin Haskell Mysteries #3) Mike Faricy 4 355 3/8/2017
Mr. Swirlee (Dev Haskell Mystery, #2) Mike Faricy 3 312 3/6/2017
Rippling Abs: Fired Up Body Series – Vol 7: Fired Up Body Paul Martin 3 33 2/21/2017
Yellow Ribbon (Dev Haskell – Private Investigator Book 11) Mike Faricy 4 414 2/18/2017
Emergence: Seven Steps for Radical Life Change Derek Rydall 3 257 2/19/2017
Out of the Past (Reed Ferguson #5) Renee Pawlish 4 216 2/20/2017
Naked Communication: Courageously Create the Relationships You Really Want Sage B Hobbs 3 171 2/20/2017
And Then She Was Gone Christopher Greyson 3 309 1/30/2017
Empath: The Little Known History of Empaths (Empath, Third Eye, Auras, Psychic) Valerie W. Holt 4 49 2/14/2017
The Fourth Rule of Ten: A Tenzing Norbu Mystery ( A Tenzing Norbu Mystery, #4) Gay Hendricks 3 347 2/12/2017
I Just Want to Be ME Again: A Guide to Thriving Through Menopause Jeanne D. Andrus 4 107 1/23/2017
Tahoe Dark (Owen McKenna #14) Todd Borg 4 341 1/22/2017
Jack and the Giant Killer (Jack Stratton, #4) Christopher Greyson 3 303 1/13/2017
Malcare WordPress Security